Skip to content

When To Seek Instant Medical Attention

January 31, 2014

I’m having trouble breathing

I was casually listening to City 89 FM, Pakistan’s number one radio station on my way to school to pick-up H.  And then the DJ started talking about his medical problems.  Trouble breathing? I thought.  That’s not good.  That’s not ‘I’ve got a slight niggle in my knee’.  When people send round those alarmist Facebook lists of ’10 Medical Signs You Should Not Ignore’, trouble breathing has got to be fairly high up.  (Incidentally I saw one of those lists once which had ‘Sudden Blindness’ as a reason to go to the doctor straightaway.  Yep, that would do it for me.  Are there really people whose world is plunged into immediate darkness and who shrug it off with a ‘I’ll see how I feel tomorrow’?)

I’ve been to see the doctor.

Oh good.  Oh, that’s a relief.  That was the right thing to do.  How did you get on?

He said that it’s because of all the spices I’ve been eating.

What???  Did you ask to see his medical qualifications?  Does he have a certificate?  Does his medical bag look like this?:

Image

 

I don’t have a medical qualification (Magic Mummy Dust seems to be the cure-all in our house and that’s just me blowing on a scratch) but I’m pretty sure if it’s a breathing problem, it’s to do with the lungs.

I’m going to go and see him as soon as I’ve finished the show. Anyway, that was the Beatles with “Let It Be”.

No.  Don’t go and see him.  He’s rubbish.  He’s put it down to cumin.  Go and see someone with a degree.  Given where you’re starting from, any degree will do by the sounds of it. 

I’ll be tuning in again today to see if the DJ is still with us, or not.   

You don’t get that on the Chris Evans Breakfast Show.

 

[Photo courtesy of Amazon.co.uk.  If you want to advise people on avoiding spices as the panacea for all ills, you can purchase your own here]

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Itchen Valley Churches

The Parish of the Itchen Valley

The Mom In Me

happy to be me

No, Strike That

Fatherhood, Parenthood, and Profanity.

The Snail on the Wall

Perspectives on Literature and Life, by Lady Vowell Smith

Smitten by Britain

For People Who Love Great Britain

Vantage Points

A Husband and Wife Perspective on Teaching, Living, and Traveling Abroad

Russellings in Gainford

News and Views from Gainford in Teesdale

Highly Irritable

Just another failed attempt at hilarity

Waxing NYrical

Exploring The Big Abbple

