Skip to content

Lassi Faire

February 28, 2014

I’m hiding in my study.  I’ve just retreated, quite quickly, from the kitchen and I’m now skulking at my desk keeping my head down. I have to admit, I’m a little bit scared.

In the kitchen is an old milk carton.  It contains, apparently, a mixture of yogurt and water and, for that extra delicious something, salt. Just before I ran for the hills it was brandished before me by my ayah and the challenge laid down:  “Do you want to try?  My old boss drank this all the time.  He really liked Pakistani food.”

Do you see what she did there?  In rejecting a fermenting, warm drink of watered down salty yoghurt, I’m rejecting her entire cuisine, her culture and, yes indeed, her country.  Could I be any more rude?

I like Pakistani cooking. I especially like my ayah’s Pakistani cooking.  Despite not being hired as a cook, I frequently walk in to delicious smells of radish filled fried chapati (an awful lot nice than they sound. I could eat them all day. I’d be the size of a house, but it would be worth it) or her particular take on dahl.  Yesterday’s delight was pakora (deep-fried batter-coated mixed vegetables).

Occasionally I get stumped.  A couple of days ago she brought in some spinach.  She used some for cooking and then asked what I wanted to do with the rest.  “Saag aloo?”  I said hopefully, bringing back memories of some particularly happy times in Brick Lane soaking up a couple of Cobras with spinach and potato curry.  I was subjected to a frown and a shake of the head.  No.  Apparently for Saag Aloo you need saag.  We had aloo (potatoes) but no saag.  I pointed at the spinach.  “Saag?” I said, and promptly discovered that saag and spinach are not the same thing, despite looking and tasting identical and notwithstanding what it says on Wikipedia.  You live and learn.

However I have decided to draw the line, and that line is between ‘nice cold drinks which refresh and delight’ and ‘warm dairy products containing salt’.  There my courage fails.

Am I a man (generic) or a mouse?

Eek eek.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Aunty Ailsa permalink

    I am totally with you on this one. Love pakora, love Dahl, love saag aloo (whatever it is made with) but Lassi, no thank you very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have low blood pressure and often need a hit of salt to prevent headaches and the like. Salt also helps in the retention of water particularly in warmer climates. Maybe it’s coz I grew up drinking it I quite like it. In the middle east they call in Labban. Why don’t you ask her to make you a sweet lassi (like a mango one or something)? Oh and yes, warm does make it sound less appetizing – cold is where it’s at! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Itchen Valley Churches

The Parish of the Itchen Valley

The Mom In Me

happy to be me

No, Strike That

Fatherhood, Parenthood, and Profanity.

The Snail on the Wall

Perspectives on Literature and Life, by Lady Vowell Smith

Smitten by Britain

For People Who Love Great Britain

Vantage Points

A Husband and Wife Perspective on Teaching, Living, and Traveling Abroad

Russellings in Gainford

News and Views from Gainford in Teesdale

Highly Irritable

Just another failed attempt at hilarity

Waxing NYrical

Exploring The Big Abbple

